57 Comments

Hi, I have completed Achilles Elysium, after taking a break from heavy squatting, deadlifting and overhead pressing. I loved Elysium's philosophy and some other concepts that you also explained on Twitter. What program would you recommend to continue along the lines of athletics / aesthetics training? Wolverine? I think that replacing barbell pressing (bench and overhead) with DBs improved both my shoulder health and overall pecs/shoulders shape and volume.

Expand full comment

Thank you.

Much appreciated

Expand full comment

Do you have any experience with Steel Clubs? I love doing all modalities from bodyweight to BB/DB, Kettlebell, etc. My lower body is much stronger and resilient than my upper body, and it seems like the steel club work would be great for my shoulder health and strength.

Expand full comment

i have run everyday for 4 years now (didn't stretch after 1 year) & have recently damaged my kneecaps. it feels like knees have bulged & hurts sometimes.

fortunately, i can walk properly but muscles do make some noises.

do i have to rest completely until i recover?

i recently read your email where u said you have to work out to repair damage & not completely rest but it was for some other part of the body & not legs.

also, can i exercise my lower body by doing squats, lunges? what would you recommend as complete rest bores me?

Expand full comment
author

Check out Knees over toes, try his knee ability zero program. You should still be able to do isotonic exercises and strengthen your knees

https://www.atgonlinecoaching.com/articles/the-truth-about-knees-over-toes

Expand full comment

knees over toes guy looks like the real deal. thanks alex!

Expand full comment

Functional Patterns, yay or nay?

Expand full comment
author

Nay.

Expand full comment

Shoulder pain when I sleep on the side, from what i've read and watched it points to a slap tear, would you agree and what rehab protocol would you recommend?

Expand full comment
author

I would never diagnose a muscle tear from a sleeping position. Go see a physical therapist and get a real assessment done

Expand full comment

What wrist spacing gives the best leverage for pullups? Spread way out? Shoulder width? Or close together? Thanks!

Expand full comment
author

The hand position influences the muscle recruitment. An underhand close grip will recruit more biceps and also lats. A moderate overhand grip has relatively equal recruitment from upper back and lats. Very wide grip is more upper back. Leverage is not the point, you need to be clear what muscles you are focusing on and choose the setup that is more appropriate

Expand full comment

Any exercise which helps relieve plantars fascitis?

Expand full comment
author

Standing on one leg for 1-3 minutes and strengthen the arch of the foot through that standing position.

Strengthening the toes (towel grabs, picking up marbles)

https://youtu.be/1LogN1M_dyY

Expand full comment

Are you familiar with shilajit? Would you recommend?

Expand full comment
author

If you want to spend money on it. Majority of supplements that get hyped up are superfluous and not necessary. If it sounds cool and you can afford it, go for it. 50/50 it does something or does nothing

Expand full comment

I've been doing your skinny far manifesto for a couple of months now (absolute beginner).

While strength (and weights) have increased, I've noticed my shoulders hurt while doing certain exercises - the joints. That's led to a plateau as I'm unable to progress beyond a certain weight level

I can imagine my shoulders being weak af but I would've assumed they'd get stronger alongside as I keep doing the workout.

Any advice on dealing with this? Cheers

Expand full comment

I am 5'8.5 but my hands are long. So the progress I see on my biceps and triceps are not satisfactory. I still feel that my hands are skinny. What should I do?

Expand full comment
author

There is nothing to do, your hand length isn’t affecting your biceps or triceps development, that would be your humerus and radius and muscle attachments. This is not a real problem

Expand full comment

I loved the TRT substack! My only question is - what if you for some reason had to come off of the TRT abruptly?

Expand full comment
author

If you do then you do, that would require some extraordinary medical situation for that to be the case though

Expand full comment

I guess I was mainly thinking about a situation where there was a natural disaster or societal collapse idk. But would I be ok? Would my body be totally fucked?

Expand full comment
author

You’d be fine. Heavy steroid users will go off get entirely sometimes for health reasons. And storing testosterone is easy and a small supply can for months or years. Testosterone is also cheap and easy to synthesize and make yourself even. Societal collapse isn’t something I take seriously. It’s an American disaster fantasy

Expand full comment

I've been wondering the same, not societal collapse but supply chain fuckery sounds very plausible these days.

Expand full comment

The barbell overhead press compared to typical dumbbell military press. What is more effective for shoulder development?

I have been doing the dumbbells for years, but I have often felt the growth has been lack luster. To that point I have been doing bent-over laterals and side lateral before my pressing over the past 6 months and I am seeing growth. Just trying to decide on which one I should put in my workouts after the laterals. Thanks.

Expand full comment
author

I wouldnt bother doing either. Contrary to conventional thinking, overhead pressing simply does NOT work very well for something, results are lackluster and the effort applied to the exercise does not match the outcome. I would increase the volume on lateral raises, rear delt raise, front raises, and you'll likely see far more development than you have prior. My favorite isolation only workout

Side lying lateral raises or cable lateral raise-4-6 sets of 8-10 reps

Bent over rear delt raises-3 sets of 20 reps

Overhead front plate raises-3 sets of 8-12 reps

Standing DB lateral to all the way overhead raise 2 sets of 10-15 reps

Expand full comment

Thanks for the advice. I will give this a go.

Expand full comment

How can I improve my lateral speed and quickness in addition to losing bodyfat?

Expand full comment
author

Losing bodyfat is diet. Getting lighter will improve speed and quickness by default. For lateral speed, that requires specific drills and practicing the skill itself. Consult a coach that does this in the respective sport you want to improve in

Expand full comment

Importance of deload weeks and how often should one take them?

Expand full comment
author

Not important unless you are training as a strength or competitive athlete and your training is done in scheduled blocks of time with scientific programming. For laymen, take a week off whenever you feel you need to after a few weeks/months of training. You determine yourself based on your gym progress and how your body feels

Expand full comment

1) Are machine rows as effective as dumbell ones?

2) I'm not able to lift much weight during free barbell squats (70lbs + 45lbs is my peak). How can I improve?

Thanks a lot.

Expand full comment
author

1) Yes, machine rows CAN be very effective, depends on design of machine though.

2) You improve by using progressive overload, increasing reps with a given weight, then increasing the weight, then increasing the reps again. Look up the progressive overload principle

Expand full comment

acute clavicle break with some displacement Dr is 50/50 on surgery Any thoughts ?

Expand full comment
author

Thats probably worth getting surgery for. You dont want a bone to heal improperly

Expand full comment

Thank You

Expand full comment

Slow push ups verses fast push ups. What's the difference, which is better?

Expand full comment
author

Its not a question of which is better. What are you trying to improve with the pushups? If the goal is maximum number of reps, then do them as fast as you want. If you want to maximize hypertrophy, slow down the rep temp and make them more difficult.

Exercise execution is based on CONTEXT of the desired goal/outcome

Expand full comment

Excellent. So I will focus on the second. Thank you sir.

Expand full comment

I tore my rotator cuff in the fall. It was a minor tear so the doctor didn't push surgery at all. Said it was an option but I should just do what I felt best and I chose to skip it. Anyway, I've been following your 70's Bulk Program and it has been great; it is far more nuanced than any program I've used in the past. I mention the injury because the 70's program is pretty much all DBs (where there could be an option). I'm pushing 50 this year. Should I just stick with DBs from here on out? The strength in my right shoulder isn't completely back but it's around 90%, which is outstanding. PS: I also bought your shoulder program but haven't felt the need to change anything yet. Thanks!

Expand full comment
author

IF the DBs are feeling good, keep using them. The stability demands of using DBs have probably been beneficial for the rehabilitation. If you want to move heavier weights, Im very fond of shoulder machine presses or smith machine presses. Stable exercises work best for heavier loading

Expand full comment

Thanks for the reply and I agree: I suspect they have facilitated the rehab. I'll keep your suggestion about the machines in mind when it's time for something new. Thanks again.

Expand full comment

Is it normal to get frequent muscle knots for lifters? In your experience what are effective preventive measures?

Expand full comment
author

Dehydration, lack of sodium. If your body is naturally tight, static stretching post training can be useful. Exercise selection and execution could play a role, but thats granular and impossible to say without watching someone lift in person.

Expand full comment

Thank you! I tend to be pretty tight all the time. Been experimenting with percussion therapy and that’s been helping a bit but I’m gonna tinker with my water and salt intake.

Expand full comment

Hi AJAC,

How early can I introduce my child to lifting weights?

Expand full comment
author

Hypothetically they could start lifting as a young child, but I suggest waiting until around age 10-12, right before puberty begins. Prior to that use calisthenics and Dumbbells

Expand full comment

I've been lifting for about 18 months and have been doing the starting strength program by Mark Rippetoe. If you are familiar with starting strength, do you have any thoughts about it's strengths and weaknesses?

Expand full comment
author

If its working keep doing it. That said Im not favorable to only training with barbell, it neglects a lot of muscle development, training with only one rep range is not optimal, ive had many many many people over the years come to me who plateaued or got injured doing starting strength, and when they finally started training with optimized exercise selection and more effective progressive overload, they realized what they were missing out on

Expand full comment

I'm 6'2 and was looking at your program for tall people. I have a power rack, barbell, and some adjustable dumbbells. Is that sufficient to do your program or would I need to go to a gym?

Expand full comment
author

You need to get rings or TRX, that wont be enough. The principles in the program are universal, but having optimal equipment setup would be best

Expand full comment

Cool. Thanks, I'll look into it

Expand full comment

What is your background? I recently found your substack and am probably missing something obvious but I haven't seen any biographical information.

Expand full comment
author

Ive been a personal trainer for 12 years since 2012. Been writing for fitness since 2013, published in magazines, been on twitter since 2016, written 40+ programs with tens of thousands of trainees that have done them. Fitness is my shit.

Expand full comment
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Get it removed, and use a wrist wrap when doing any pressing exercises. Wrist wraps are underutilised and can mitigate this issue entirely. I recommend them constantly to anyone prone to wrist issues

Expand full comment